1. Mono 1 Person Tent v2

Mono 1 Person Tent v2

Now $174.98
or 4 easy payments with
Mono 1 Person Tent v2 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 56.
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_54
  • loc_en_AU, sid_50153_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 281.27ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Solo adventure

When you need your own personal shelter, go for our one person Mono Tent. Ideal for three season hiking or cycle touring, the Mono’s a lightweight tunnel tent that will compress down small to save you space in your pack. You can expect a comfortable retreat on your next solo adventure.

Sleeps 1
Vestibules 1
Doors 1
Poles 2 x 9mm Alloy
Guy lines 2
Pegs 18 x Alloy

Measurements
Packed size 18cm x 36cm
Packed volume 6.9L
Overall dimensions 232cm x 150cm
Maximum internal height 65cm 
Floor area 1.9m 2

Composition
Fly fabric Seam-sealed 50D Polyester Ripstop
Inner fabric 40D Nylon 
Floor fabric 150D Polyester
Fly waterproof rating 2000mm
Floor waterproof rating 10000mm

Weight 1.10kg (inner-pitched only)
Weight 1.73kg (when fully pitched)

Tent Pitching Instructions
Download PDF

  • Lightweight tunnel tent design – fast and easy to put up in poor weather
  • Seam sealed waterproof flysheet
  • Durable construction and components – with strong, high tensile alloy poles
  • Breathable mesh inner – to keep insects out
  • Inner pockets for storing items
  • Includes a repair kit – with fabric patches, a pole sleeve and a fly buckle

Customer Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not enough waterproof Hi, sorry if there are any faults, I'm French. I bought this tent one month ago. My first night was good, actually I'm 190cm so it's quite small for me. I travel with my bike so very hard to put all my stuff inside. If you claustrophobic, don't buy this one and if you don't like rain go into your tent, don't buy this one too! That's what happens on my second night, it was raining all night long and the first hour, water was already pass through the canvas... Hopefully I got a protection I can put on the top, otherwise I will be very wet.... I don't recommand this tent, especially during bad conditions as rain.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Set Up! I got this for a birthday present and will never leave it for hiking. Best tent I've ever had!
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable; Does the job I bought this one back in 2013 for 3-4 months trip around New Zealand. It is still alive 5 years later. It's great small tent for solo bikepacking. Since then I have also moved on to more expensive but ultralight options. I still think this tent is well worth it. It survived days of constant rain in Queenstown as well :-).
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tiny, neat and perfect for light camping It is exactly what it is advertised as - a small, lightweight tent ideal to set up and sleep in, and not necessarily for anything else. Perfect for spending a night or two at a campsite.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small and manageable Have used a couple of times and yet to use for the tramp I originally bough for - but seems to be a good buy. Small and light but appears to be well built and fit for purpose. ie Summer tramping tent.
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a trip away for one! Great little tent for travelling away on a hike. Very living at 1.73kg and condenses nicely into a neat little bundle.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ideal one person, but... I bought one for a solo hike of two portions of the Israel National Trail (250 of the 960 kms). I turned 73 while there. The first night I discovered how rocky Israel is. The Mono is impossible to pitch without pegs in the ground because it collapses. Once I found soft enough ground each night, no problems. Sure I could not sit up, but light, compact, and "bathtub" floor were more important to me. Its narrowness, low height, and blending colour meant I could "disappear" in places I did not want to be seen (public parks in shrub patches). No problem storing my pack inside at night. The aluminium pegs are too soft, but the tent is tough and survived the trip well. But for my return this year I will have a standalone with crossing poles.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SMALL, LIGHT AND ROOMY I take the mono v2 camping with my motorbike and it’s very compact for a comfortable sized tent for 1. I was at lake eildon and the tent was left in a severe thunderstorm FOR HOURS and got soaked! but was dry inside! Inside is well ventilated and has quite a lot of room to move and not feel to enclosed. Best tent in the market for size and PRICE.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy set up Great tent for price, quick easy set up and pack up, seems sturdy and stable once pitch, me being 5,2", it's perfect size tent, I wouldn't want to be a 6foot basket baller though, it might be a bit cosy:) and with most 1man hiking tents , why can't they put a small side window for ventilation ?
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little hiking tent Compact, light, waterproof, sets up so easily! I'm 5ft10 and it fits me and my little 10kg hiking companion snugly. It it rained and I had to bring my pack inside things would be a little more squished though.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tent I took this tent up to Scotland for my West Highland Way trek during a wet September. The tent is really easy to set up and pack up. The tent help up well on a few very rainy nights - keeping me completely dry and warm. The only real con that I can point to is the tent's size. Changing clothes is challenging and setting up a pack for a long day's hike is virtually impossible within the tent. This tent is great overall - I'll definitely be deploying it again on my next hike.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I used this tent for one year in all kinds of weather including heavy rain. The tent is surprisingly well designed (even though it does not look flashy), easy to setup and easy to maintain. I am totally satisfied with this tent.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pack Light I have used this tent many many times on overnight hikes. It is light compact and very easy to set up. Would use this tent in the dryer months of the year when the weather is a little more calm. If you looking to cut weight in your hiking pack this tent is a must.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Basic but Impressive Wasn't planning on purchasing a tent during my trip to NZ but quickly changed my mind when I decided I was keen to do solo trips, and was attracted to the good price and that it was a solid 3 season tramping tent and not just for car camping. I'm happy with the size and weight. The rainfly has me impressed, though it's nearly impossible to keep the mesh of the tent dry by the door while getting out of the tent while its raining. Otherwise, I was kept dry for 4 days of heavy rain in the mountains. The footprint was also quite durable, and I trust that no matter where I pitch this tent, it'll hold up. I have just two complaints. First, the zippers. I was not impressed with the quality of the zippers, as they seemed cheap and lower quality than industry standard. My second is that the sewing of the seams seems uneven in places, and this has resulted in some fraying already! When I get the chance I'm going to go in and reinforce some of the seams myself. Overall I would recommend, and I'll use this until it fails me, but I'm not sure I'll replace it with another Mono.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I took it to Fiordland, that was my first mistake The tent was rubbish, brand new out of box it leaked through the seams. The rivets broke and I had to replace them. It is a poor quality build and certainly only good for very fine weather, perhaps camping on the back lawn at the Bach. If you a looking for single person tent for any real adventure off your property. Think again and look for property manufactured tent. These are cheap and they are cheap for a reason...
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little tent Great little tent that holds up well to wind and rain. It's pretty low, but the floorspace is roomy enough - fitting me, my 7 year old son and a pack for the night. Despite having two of us in there, there wasn't too much condensation. I definitely recommend it to others as great value for money.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job. Bought it with some reservations as I don't trust Kathmandu's quality. But, happy to say that I have been proven wrong. Used it for 15 days when riding my adventure motorcycle around South Island (NZ) on different terrains. I'm 178cms tall and weigh 90kgs. I was able to store 2 backpacks (1 I used as pillow), my riding suit, helmet inside the tent. I put my boots and some cooking utensils under the fly and they stayed dry in wet weather. I used an air mattress to lie on and further cocooned myself inside a sleeping bag. Managed to get solid 7 - 8hrs of sleep in the tent each night through variety of weather including some really windy and rainy days when staying in the bush. Yes, there is no head-space but I wonder if it's because the designers wanted to save weight and/or make the tent aero-dynamic. I don't mind it too much seeing how the tent packs quite small, holds all my stuff and is reasonably robust. Good one Kathmandu :)
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough little tent Great tough little tent. Very well built with good stitching. A good balance between strength of material and weight at this price point. The obvious compromise is size.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fly waterproof rating I think the fly waterproof rating should be 5000 mm
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WELL MADE I bought this tent after going through 2 well known brand , bottom of the market tents which both broke the poles leaving me stranded on the road on my push bike for with no shelter , one horrible night using the tent as a bivy just filled up with water as it rained my sleeping bag soaked. So when I got to a larger city I bought the solo, received great service , booked into a park pulled out the tent and was surprised by the quality of the material particularly the floor. The first night really got a work out strong winds and rain the tent was faultless kept me dry though some wind did get in. This tent is small on the inside one step up from a bivy for room so if your looking for sit up room this tent won't be for you also it is a bit heavy but hey it is well made so will last and you can't go wrong with the price.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light and compact I took this tent on a hike to Sealers Cove at Wilsons Promontory. It was light and compact to carry. I slept in it with my 8 year old daughter and there was ample room for the two of us. It would not suit 2 adults though. It rained quite heavily over night but we stayed perfectly dry and warm. We also had plenty of room for our backpacks - one doubling as a pillow and the other at our feet which is fine if you aren't more than 175cm. The small fly had plenty of room for muddy boots to stay outside but still dry.
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome product Brought this a few weeks ago and I have already used it several times. Good size for one person but also can fit two inside if you are prepared to leave your rucksack outside. Slightly heavier then I would have wanted but the pack size is small. Brought for multi-day trips by myself and with my girlfriend in New Zealand.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tent Go bush hiking alot and this and my survival blanket keep me toasty warm even in the middle of snow season
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good doer I've used this tent in the Grampians and the High Country in the warmer months and it's a good value doer that's easy and light weight. It's soundly waterproof, quick to put up and take down as well as pack down to a wee size for stuffing inside my pack. It is snug for my 6"1' height but only feels small to me when confined to it in inclement weather. It's snug so forget about having your pack inside the tent with you. I recognised this when buying it and also bought a waterproof cover for my pack. It's a top 3-season hiking tent for the price of it. I've given mine a bit of a battering in the last year and it's still going strong.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from does the job I bought this tent last year (it might be v1, I'm unsure) it was on special at about half rrp. The tent is easy to put up and it is waterproof. I was aware of its limited space before I purchased it, so I cannot complain about it being cramped. The two main issues are; 1. there is nowhere to store your pack. There is not enough room in the tent and the vestibule is too small. 2. the design means that when you open the fly, from inside the tent, water or ice, if it's frosty, drops straight into the tent. For a bit over $100 the tent was reasonable value, but I'm currently looking at investing several hundred on a tent that is much lighter, that I can sit up in, that keeps all water out and that has decent size vestibules.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and Compact I brought this tent for a kayaking trip in Abel Tasman NP. It held up very well to the condition. The pockets inside are handy for your small items. The only thing I didn't like is that you can not sit up inside it but you can remedy this by stringing up a tarp. Other than that it's a nice tent that I'm going to hold on to.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy Camper Very happy with the Mono 1 Person tent. Spacious (for a 1 person tent) compact when folded and lots of inside pockets. Very easy to put up. Only downside is that you cant get away with not using tent pegs.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible design I purchased this tent a few months ago and have just used it on what was to be a 3 day hike. This tent is terrible. I'm a shade over 6ft and barely fit in it. If i tried to get away from the bottom foot panel, the head panel is angled so it the rested on my head. If i moved futher down, my feet were touching the tent. If i lay on my back and bent my knees slighty, they touched the roof. My pack is 90lt, and there was no way known that it would fit in the tent with me. There was barely enough space under the fly for my boots, so my pack had to stay outside. Looking at the tent set up, the complete lack of useable space has me mystified as to who this design would actually suit? I believe i was tricked by clever marketing and online sales. People say "tight a**es pay twice". This is certainly the case here. I have been hiking for many years now and generally only replace things as they wear out. I'll be replacing this item after 1 nights use (i cut my intended trip short at the thought of trying to get in this thing again). I would definitely not recommended this item to anyone.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent Bought this tent to take on the GOW and it was perfect. Easy set up and pack up. Has handy pockets too. Plenty of room for me (5'3") and my backpack.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Little Beauty. Only used this once so far since purchasing but it's fantastic. Light to carry. Easy and quick to erect. Well made and kept me cosy all night (in dry conditions). Found the wind gets under the tarp and flaps it around a bit so could do with a couple more guys ropes down the sides to secure it a bit more. It would be a cosy tent for two but then it really is designed for one. Otherwise this is a great little tent and fantastic for the price (on sale).
Date published: 2015-12-24
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_54
  • loc_en_AU, sid_50153_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.72ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT