1. Mono 1 Person Tent v2

Mono 1 Person Tent v2

Now $149.99
or 4 easy payments with
Mono 1 Person Tent v2 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 66.
  • y_2020, m_7, d_9, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_64
  • loc_en_AU, sid_50153_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 248.38ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Solo adventure

When you need your own personal shelter, go for our one person Mono Tent. Ideal for three season hiking or cycle touring, the Mono’s a lightweight tunnel tent that will compress down small to save you space in your pack. You can expect a comfortable retreat on your next solo adventure.

Sleeps 1
Vestibules 1
Doors 1
Poles 2 x 9mm Alloy
Guy lines 2
Pegs 16 x Alloy

Measurements
Packed size 18cm x 36cm
Packed volume 6.9L
Overall dimensions 232cm x 150cm
Maximum internal height 65cm 
Floor area 1.9m 2

Composition
Fly fabric Seam-sealed 50D Polyester Ripstop
Inner fabric 40D Nylon 
Floor fabric 150D Polyester
Fly waterproof rating 2000mm
Floor waterproof rating 10000mm

Weight 1.10kg (inner-pitched only)
Weight 1.73kg (when fully pitched)

Tent Pitching Instructions
Download PDF

  • Lightweight tunnel tent design – fast and easy to put up in poor weather
  • Seam sealed waterproof flysheet
  • Durable construction and components – with strong, high tensile alloy poles
  • Breathable mesh inner – to keep insects out
  • Inner pockets for storing items
  • Includes a repair kit – with fabric patches, a pole sleeve and a fly buckle

Questions & Answers

  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 227.93ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loyal companion I'm emotionaly attached to this tent, it's been with me 4 years and it finally lost its waterproofing and a pole snapped 2 months into living in it this winter. I don't look after my gear very well and constantly pack my gear up wet and never dry it out till it's time to hike again so would probably last longer if your not a goog like me. Will be repurchasing.
Date published: 2019-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it is what it is I am 190cm tall. I have used this tent around 15 hiking trips and in all weather conditions. I purchased this tent to use as a lightweight swag to pair with my lightweight tarp. I pitch this tent under my tarp in wet conditions and find that combination works perfect for me. However, if you wish to sit up inside your tent or are looking for an all weather stand alone shelter option then I would NOT purchase this product. This tent has served me extremely well and I believe it is a fantastic value for money lightweight option. No condensation issues so far and very easy to set up. I would highly recommend as a first hiking tent.
Date published: 2019-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% waterproof Mono v2 tent Fairly easy to set up definitely waterproof ! In windy conditions it could do with additional tiedown points.
Date published: 2019-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and good value This tent has been a great tent for the past 3 years for me. The low profile means its good in stronger winds. And its just the right size to fit me and my 75l backpack. For its price its a great deal. I've taken it to many peaks in the ruahines and its held up great.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Value for money. This a very good tent for the price. If you want an economical lightweight small packed size tent this it. I am 193 cm (6’ 4”) and fit with a little to spare. I have just spent 4 weeks in Ireland where it rained most days and the inside stayed dry all the time. It has two useful side pockets near your head and a small vestibule for boots or wet clothing. Just be aware that if is sunny it gets hot inside, so no good for an afternoon nap. It has very good ventilation and so there is no condensation inside but consequently you will need a warm sleeping bag if it’s cold.
Date published: 2019-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from all good Don't buy if you are over 6ft you wont fit. Got this tent for a 6 day biking/hiking trip and it was perfect, not a lot of room for gear but compact and easy to assemble quickly
Date published: 2019-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! But buy stronger pegs! Bought the Mono V2 around a month ago and have already made good use a few times on hiking trips through Grampians and easy overnight camping. Very light and compact as expected but also quick and easy to pitch and take down. I do recommend buying stronger pegs even if it may add a bit more weight. As soon as I encountered ground that wasnt wet and relatively compact, the pegs supplied began to bend and even snap.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Minimalist Gear The light-weight, small footprint and small profile is perfect for the minimalist hiker, canoe/kayaker or lone wolf road-tripper. Very easy to assemble (only 2 poles). It held up great during some rough weather as well. The only potential challenge is that there is no spinal pole, so this means no freestanding capability (it relies on tension from the endlines and steaks), and should be recommended for soft ground. Tall campers may struggle, and gear needs to be stored externally (this should be obvious). I appreciated the clip-on rain-fly and several small internal gear pockets at the head end. This is a decent modern version of the traditional "sniper tent" and made for a great no-fuss shelter.
Date published: 2019-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tent I have given this 4 stars not 5 only because I’ve only used it for 2 nights so far on the The Great Walk in the Mapleton National Park. Maybe in time so issue might show up but for those 2 nights is was great. Lightweight easy to erect. One night was a thunderstorm and heavy rain - I stayed dry and the low profile was not to affected by the wind but we did have a lot of shelter from trees. Can’t really think of anything wrong with it - maybe I will change out the cord and plastic tensioner at either end they don’t really work but that’s about it. All in all a great tent for what it’s designed to do.
Date published: 2018-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very compact and light Great for on the back of a motorcycle! Easy to put up
Date published: 2018-11-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not enough waterproof Hi, sorry if there are any faults, I'm French. I bought this tent one month ago. My first night was good, actually I'm 190cm so it's quite small for me. I travel with my bike so very hard to put all my stuff inside. If you claustrophobic, don't buy this one and if you don't like rain go into your tent, don't buy this one too! That's what happens on my second night, it was raining all night long and the first hour, water was already pass through the canvas... Hopefully I got a protection I can put on the top, otherwise I will be very wet.... I don't recommand this tent, especially during bad conditions as rain.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Set Up! I got this for a birthday present and will never leave it for hiking. Best tent I've ever had!
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable; Does the job I bought this one back in 2013 for 3-4 months trip around New Zealand. It is still alive 5 years later. It's great small tent for solo bikepacking. Since then I have also moved on to more expensive but ultralight options. I still think this tent is well worth it. It survived days of constant rain in Queenstown as well :-).
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tiny, neat and perfect for light camping It is exactly what it is advertised as - a small, lightweight tent ideal to set up and sleep in, and not necessarily for anything else. Perfect for spending a night or two at a campsite.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small and manageable Have used a couple of times and yet to use for the tramp I originally bough for - but seems to be a good buy. Small and light but appears to be well built and fit for purpose. ie Summer tramping tent.
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a trip away for one! Great little tent for travelling away on a hike. Very living at 1.73kg and condenses nicely into a neat little bundle.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ideal one person, but... I bought one for a solo hike of two portions of the Israel National Trail (250 of the 960 kms). I turned 73 while there. The first night I discovered how rocky Israel is. The Mono is impossible to pitch without pegs in the ground because it collapses. Once I found soft enough ground each night, no problems. Sure I could not sit up, but light, compact, and "bathtub" floor were more important to me. Its narrowness, low height, and blending colour meant I could "disappear" in places I did not want to be seen (public parks in shrub patches). No problem storing my pack inside at night. The aluminium pegs are too soft, but the tent is tough and survived the trip well. But for my return this year I will have a standalone with crossing poles.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SMALL, LIGHT AND ROOMY I take the mono v2 camping with my motorbike and it’s very compact for a comfortable sized tent for 1. I was at lake eildon and the tent was left in a severe thunderstorm FOR HOURS and got soaked! but was dry inside! Inside is well ventilated and has quite a lot of room to move and not feel to enclosed. Best tent in the market for size and PRICE.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy set up Great tent for price, quick easy set up and pack up, seems sturdy and stable once pitch, me being 5,2", it's perfect size tent, I wouldn't want to be a 6foot basket baller though, it might be a bit cosy:) and with most 1man hiking tents , why can't they put a small side window for ventilation ?
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little hiking tent Compact, light, waterproof, sets up so easily! I'm 5ft10 and it fits me and my little 10kg hiking companion snugly. It it rained and I had to bring my pack inside things would be a little more squished though.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tent I took this tent up to Scotland for my West Highland Way trek during a wet September. The tent is really easy to set up and pack up. The tent help up well on a few very rainy nights - keeping me completely dry and warm. The only real con that I can point to is the tent's size. Changing clothes is challenging and setting up a pack for a long day's hike is virtually impossible within the tent. This tent is great overall - I'll definitely be deploying it again on my next hike.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I used this tent for one year in all kinds of weather including heavy rain. The tent is surprisingly well designed (even though it does not look flashy), easy to setup and easy to maintain. I am totally satisfied with this tent.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pack Light I have used this tent many many times on overnight hikes. It is light compact and very easy to set up. Would use this tent in the dryer months of the year when the weather is a little more calm. If you looking to cut weight in your hiking pack this tent is a must.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Basic but Impressive Wasn't planning on purchasing a tent during my trip to NZ but quickly changed my mind when I decided I was keen to do solo trips, and was attracted to the good price and that it was a solid 3 season tramping tent and not just for car camping. I'm happy with the size and weight. The rainfly has me impressed, though it's nearly impossible to keep the mesh of the tent dry by the door while getting out of the tent while its raining. Otherwise, I was kept dry for 4 days of heavy rain in the mountains. The footprint was also quite durable, and I trust that no matter where I pitch this tent, it'll hold up. I have just two complaints. First, the zippers. I was not impressed with the quality of the zippers, as they seemed cheap and lower quality than industry standard. My second is that the sewing of the seams seems uneven in places, and this has resulted in some fraying already! When I get the chance I'm going to go in and reinforce some of the seams myself. Overall I would recommend, and I'll use this until it fails me, but I'm not sure I'll replace it with another Mono.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I took it to Fiordland, that was my first mistake The tent was rubbish, brand new out of box it leaked through the seams. The rivets broke and I had to replace them. It is a poor quality build and certainly only good for very fine weather, perhaps camping on the back lawn at the Bach. If you a looking for single person tent for any real adventure off your property. Think again and look for property manufactured tent. These are cheap and they are cheap for a reason...
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little tent Great little tent that holds up well to wind and rain. It's pretty low, but the floorspace is roomy enough - fitting me, my 7 year old son and a pack for the night. Despite having two of us in there, there wasn't too much condensation. I definitely recommend it to others as great value for money.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job. Bought it with some reservations as I don't trust Kathmandu's quality. But, happy to say that I have been proven wrong. Used it for 15 days when riding my adventure motorcycle around South Island (NZ) on different terrains. I'm 178cms tall and weigh 90kgs. I was able to store 2 backpacks (1 I used as pillow), my riding suit, helmet inside the tent. I put my boots and some cooking utensils under the fly and they stayed dry in wet weather. I used an air mattress to lie on and further cocooned myself inside a sleeping bag. Managed to get solid 7 - 8hrs of sleep in the tent each night through variety of weather including some really windy and rainy days when staying in the bush. Yes, there is no head-space but I wonder if it's because the designers wanted to save weight and/or make the tent aero-dynamic. I don't mind it too much seeing how the tent packs quite small, holds all my stuff and is reasonably robust. Good one Kathmandu :)
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough little tent Great tough little tent. Very well built with good stitching. A good balance between strength of material and weight at this price point. The obvious compromise is size.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fly waterproof rating I think the fly waterproof rating should be 5000 mm
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WELL MADE I bought this tent after going through 2 well known brand , bottom of the market tents which both broke the poles leaving me stranded on the road on my push bike for with no shelter , one horrible night using the tent as a bivy just filled up with water as it rained my sleeping bag soaked. So when I got to a larger city I bought the solo, received great service , booked into a park pulled out the tent and was surprised by the quality of the material particularly the floor. The first night really got a work out strong winds and rain the tent was faultless kept me dry though some wind did get in. This tent is small on the inside one step up from a bivy for room so if your looking for sit up room this tent won't be for you also it is a bit heavy but hey it is well made so will last and you can't go wrong with the price.
Date published: 2016-11-14
  • y_2020, m_7, d_9, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_64
  • loc_en_AU, sid_50153_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9.87ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT