1. Retreat 3 Person Beach Shelter v3

Retreat 3 Person Beach Shelter v3

Now $69.98
or 4 easy payments with
Retreat 3 Person Beach Shelter v3 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 92.
  • y_2019, m_11, d_20, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_86
  • loc_en_AU, sid_87127_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 286.18ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Quick Overview

Providing both shelter from the sun and wind protection, our Retreat Beach Shelter is the perfect accessory when camping, picnic dining, or spending time at the beach. This small free-standing beach shelter also has an extendable floor that can be closed off by zipping shut (with lockable zips). Need a tent and gear spray to keep your tent water repellent?

Capacity 2-3 person
Fabric 63D Polyester Oxford UPF50+
Floor 120gsm PE
Floor Area 4m2
Dimensions when packed 17 x 57cm
Maximum Height 120cm

Weight 2.7 kg

Shelter Pitching Instructions
Download PDF

  • Wind and sun protection
  • Privacy and storage
  • Internal pockets
  • Ventilated
  • Lockable zips
  • Flat-tipped, foot friendly pegs

Customer Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great. I was doing a dummy run erecting this shelter in my living-room when I realized that it was bigger than expected and impractical for me to take to the beach for a relatively short period of time. It would make an excellent shelter for several people who like to spend a day at the beach.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and effective Nice and easy to construct and dismantle (even by yourself). Very roomy and looks robust and well made (although only used it a couple of times so far). Great deal for the price paid.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect sun shelter ! Provides great sun shade, plenty of room for everything. Does take a while to put up but otherwise it's great.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Zips are NOT lockable. So the floor folds up and you'll need two padlocks, however they go through the metal eyelet and then through the nylon cord loop on each zip. This nylon loop is tied with a granny knot. Locked? According to KMD it "provides a deterrent"
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Buy ever Tested this out today at the beach, I kept saying to my husband Best Buy ever, great size for the beach for two people.
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved by all We bought this as a wedding gift and it is used constantly
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovin' It Open or Closed Being able to use the shelter open or closed is the best feature!
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good shelter, once you get it up Bought for sun protection at the beach. Not as easy to put up as the description, however once you do get it up, it's great at the beach and provides ample shade. Good size and light weight.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Usefull I'm prety happy with this shelter, it really deliver what is promised. However is a bit tricky to assemble on windy conditions, although handles the wind very well.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size and super smart This beach shelter can be zipped up completely for sun and wind protection. It feels very sturdy and looks super smart with its various air vents and smart tent poles. So, so happy with it. Better than expected!
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User friendly Easy set up and more importantly pack up. Also much larger and roomier than originaly expected
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great and large! I bought this as a friend had it at a recent picnic. I've yet to use it but when I got it today I set it up in the lounge. It was bigger than I expected and I can't wait to bring it o the beach or picnic ground. I love the fact that it can be closed for privacy e.g. used to change the kids etc.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Beach Tent Very stable tent even when there was really strong wind it did not fall over. Only issue was we can only fit 2 people since we have huge body built but this was because we were both lying on it. Otherwise it would fit 3 small-medium sized person.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great beach shelter Used it once, easy to set up. Good, cheap & value.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and roomy Easily put up and taken down and packed away. Plenty of room for two adults and two small kids to keep out of the sun. Have been meaning to buy a shelter for years, glad I grabbed this on sale when I did.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly easy to setup I never had any kind of tent before. I was worried whether it would be easy to setup. It is so easy it hardly takes 5 min. Very clever features like air vent and zippers. Recommended. Just buy it.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I bought yhis beach tent couple of weeks ago. I did love it. So did my children. I'd like to recommend this to my friends.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great features I bought this three weeks ago and the color and size is great.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must have for summer small to carry but have big space once you set up. The extra sand bag make it more stable in the beach
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! great little product, well made, good quality, so glad I paid extra for this instead of buying a cheap warehouse one!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable cover Bought this as a family Christmas present. Very impressed, easy to put up and down. Love the fact that you can secure your belongings with the zip front.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome shelter This shelter is awesome.The flaps on the sides are back are great for filling with sand to anchor the shelter on the beach. We are delighted with this product and especially happy with the price.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic.!! It is large enough to stay 3 people. It's not instant set up tent but easy to set up.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from its great once you set it up. I bought this recently during Christmas promotion with a good deal (49.99$). However, I am not particularly impressed with the set up process. It needs a similar setup process of a tent, where you need to setup the poles first then those poles keeps your tent up. While that process was easy but was difficult to do it by one person. You need two person to help set it up and take it out; just like a tent. Once you set up , it's great. provides adequate shelter for 2 -3 person. It was great under sun. I found side pockets useful. It would have been better if they had a mesh window on the rear side or sides. the very breathing holes on the sides were not adequate in my opinion. It was also useful while some one needed to change as it can be zipped up for privacy. However, it becomes difficult inside for an adult to change being in upright position. We could also zip it up when we were all enjoying in water. So provided more security / privacy for the stuffs you carry in beach. During moderate wind, it performed well compared to other shelters around in the beach. Steel pegs provided are really not suitable for sand. Again it looks like a tent peg rather than beach shelter peg. Now unpacking it also bit of process. while its not difficult but it should be easier for a beach shelter. It still needs two people to easily do it. In case of wind, it may be difficult. The carry bag is really small, which is useful during camping trips. However, unless you fold it properly, its not going to fit. Carry bag also lacks a shoulder carry strap. It's a basic thing but missed by a reputable vendor like Kathmandu!! Pros: 1. Good shelter even in windy condition 2. looks nice; well built 3. decent room for 2-3 people 4. compact size when packed; useful to carry during your camping trip with other gears. cons: 1. difficult to setup 2. difficult to pack it back 3. lacks a carry strap Would I recommend it? Maybe.. depends on what you are looking for. I already had a larger beach umbrella that opens and closes in seconds. However, that was too big to carry during my camping trips. This one fits that purpose. Thanks for taking time to read. Hope it helps.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot bigger than what I expected, easy to put up. I brought this as a gift for my kids, and am happy overall with the product . A+++
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit for purpose. I used this at the beach when it was 43.2 degrees recently so it was a good test! It definitely protects you from the sting of the sun for sure. In that temperature though, it does get warm and a little stuffy underneath even with the two side ventilation flaps open, they only open up a little way; there is only "partially open" and "closed", you can't adjust them further. I would have preferred the option to open them up wider to let some more air flow through, that's my only criticism. Also be aware that in strong sun, the front flap gets very hot if you leave it open on the ground as in the pictures here - you won't be able to stand on it for more than a few seconds as my 2 yo found out. We had to fold it underneath the floor so that we were sitting inside with our legs on the sand, this worked best as that flap was insanely hot in the direct sun and on top of hot sand. Overall, great value for money and really happy with the quality/premium nature of the product, nothing cheap and nasty in this, even the bags, wrappings, etc.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ample room Bought this for the lake, has plenty of room and very easy to put together
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for summer beach time It's really light to carry n easy to setup, great size for 3 people!
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Massive Brought this a couple of weeks back for my 3 month old daughter and I to enjoy some outdoor time while her dad was whitebaiting and fishing. Easy and quick to assemble. Larger than expected. Still very bright under the shade but good sun and wind protection for us both.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Beach Shelter Exactly as pictured, good quality and easy to setup.
Date published: 2015-04-25
  • y_2019, m_11, d_20, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_86
  • loc_en_AU, sid_87127_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.34ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT