1. Retreat 3 Person Beach Shelter v3

Retreat 3 Person Beach Shelter v3

$99.98
Members Price $59.99
or 4 easy payments with
Retreat 3 Person Beach Shelter v3 is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 91.
  • y_2019, m_10, d_17, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_85
  • loc_en_AU, sid_87127_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 253.65ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Quick Overview

Providing both shelter from the sun and wind protection, our Retreat Beach Shelter is the perfect accessory when camping, picnic dining, or spending time at the beach. This small free-standing beach shelter also has an extendable floor that can be closed off by zipping shut (with lockable zips). Need a tent and gear spray to keep your tent water repellent?

Capacity 2-3 person
Fabric 63D Polyester Oxford UPF50+
Floor 120gsm PE
Floor Area 4m2
Dimensions when packed 17 x 57cm
Maximum Height 120cm

Weight 2.7 kg

Shelter Pitching Instructions
Download PDF

  • Wind and sun protection
  • Privacy and storage
  • Internal pockets
  • Ventilated
  • Lockable zips
  • Flat-tipped, foot friendly pegs

Customer Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great on the beach Worked great on the beach. Utilized the pockets on the side and filled it up with sand, worked very well. Keeps you in the shade.
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent size I bought this and tried it at home first. Decent size and not too bad to setup.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Value for money! I've had this for 2 years already and still very useful. My only concern that it gets too hot while you are inside during sunny days. I'm not sure whether the color I've chosen (red/grey) has something to do with it. I wonder if the the dark blue variant is better at blocking heat.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome, perfect for the beach Get and easy to set up, highly recommend to others
Date published: 2019-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble Bought just before Christmas and used over the holidays at the park and the beach. Perfect for our little bub to stay out of the sun.
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size tent, easy to assemble & pack Great size tent, that is easy to assemble & pack up. Only thing missing is a carry handle for the case/bag.
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and big enough for 3 New to sun shelters and boy are they better than flying umbrellas! The Retreat 3 person beach shelter is easy to put up and down. It’s easier with two people when inserting the poles but I think I could manage in my own if need be. We use large zip lock bags filled with sand to weight it down during installation and for a bit of extra protection from the wind. The few down sides are the shelter isn’t very high when erected and when sitting inside on a low to ground beach chair (and I mean very low to the ground) you need to be centred and towards the front so you don’t touch the top with your head. This forces you out of the shade depending on where the sun is. I am only 160cm and I just fit so if you are taller and want to sit on something inside the shelter you would almost certainly touch the top. The floor base is a dark grey colour and the outer section that gets the full sun is unbearably hot to touch on a hot day so we have been putting our beach mat over this area to stop any burnt feet. The only other thing is there isn’t enough ventilation, it has two very small triangles on the sides that have a pop up insert to hold them open. A proper decent size mesh opening like the bigger version but in proportion to it’s size would be much better because it can get hot inside when there is not much of a breeze. Would I buy this again? Yes for it’s ease and size because they both go hand in hand. I can live with being centred in the shelter and with the limited ventilation, it would just be better with more. I saw the large size of this same shelter on the beach and it obviously has a lot more height, you could stand inside in parts and ventilation is so much better but it’s too big for what I need and I would definitely need help putting it up and sometimes that isn’t an option and I expect putting it away would be a bit harder too.
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bloody Marvellous! Bought the shelter a month ago and have used it a bunch of times at the beach, lake and as a windbreak. It’s easy to set up and you only need the guy ropes if it’s crazy windy, otherwise sand or rocks in the designated pockets works a charm. You can also zip half of it up to change or, like us, get a baby to sleep without wind ruining it! A++
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome beach shelter Used it the first time Xmas day and now friends and family all want one awesome shelter
Date published: 2018-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good size and easy to put up This is a good sized beach shelter and is very easy to put up and pack away
Date published: 2018-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better and much bigger than the price suggest I love this shelter. It’s easy to set up and light to carry, but provides plenty of room for my whole family. I can also use it as a change room on the beach. It is full of well-thought details which gave me lots of pleasant surprise from time to time. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect beach tent. We love it! Was initially surprised at the size; for a small, it is very generous...but once we got it down to the beach, it was fine. It is perfect for the two of us, but plenty of room for one more. It took me a couple of goes to get setup right but now, it’s easy. The sand pockets on the side were perfect to stop it blowing away in the wind. Like the little storage pockets inside; perfect for keeping bits sand-free and accessible. My only change to it would be to add a carry handle to the bag, but that’s a minor tweak. Very pleased!
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect beach shelter Friends lent us their's awhile ago, loved it so much we bought our own. Perfect beach shelter and storage, especially with zip lock-up.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what we needed for the beach We've used the shelter a few times already and was just what we needed .
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Happy! Great product, bargain price, excellent on-line purchase experience, friendly service at the in-store pick-up - can't ask for much more!
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! A whole lot better than anticipated. Very very happy with our purchase. Service was fantastic too. Safe to say our expectations have been exceeded in quality of product and service. Will most certainly be shopping with Kathmandu again.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good beach tent Great tent. A little hard to get back in the bag (especially on a windy beach). Would be great if the bag was slightly larger
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brought this as a gift . prefect size easy to asemble better than a beach umbrella
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large roomy beach shelter Very easy to put up and down and large enough for a toddler to play in
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great I brought this for our holiday. Looking forward to use it.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the kids Wanted this to keep my twins out of the sun, its easy to use i enjoy it, it does what i wanted it to do, i also love how it has sand pockets so you dont need to use pegs.!! Great add on.!! but the only downside is it gets really stuffy and hot inside (as do all tents I guess) so other then that it great. Oh and a carry strap/over the shoulder strap would make it better
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beach revelation at an excellent price. This shelter made me comfortable spending hours rather than minutes on the beach. It's big enough for one adult to lie down in comfortably, with room to spare for books, water, snacks and so on. Easily two and probably three adults if sitting, though less lounging possible that way. There are useful hanging pockets for sunglasses and other bits and pieces. I put it up solo easily when there was no wind, and with a bit more swearing when it was very breezy. Didn't need the guy ropes when it was still; when very windy I had guys in and sand pockets full but was still worried it might blow away while I was swimming (it didn't, but pegs came out). Easy for one person to carry this plus a beach bag - it's well-packed and not heavy. Pegs press in to dry sand with heel of the hand. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I set this up at home on my own, very easy to set up and pack up. surprisingly, everything went back into the bag it came out of without a struggle. I can't wait to get time to go to the beach to use it.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great family shelter Sturdy, much larger than I expected, and fairly easy to erect (took 5-10 mins first time).
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rain I bought this product last year but haven`t used it till last week. Although it was well protect in windy weather, it was like bucket of water after 10 minutes rain.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick setup Perfect for days spent at the beach, quick to set up & pack away, surprised at how spacious it is being the smaller size shelter. Will get a lot of use from the beach shelter
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic for little people Easy to set up even by myself, perfect for the baby to roll around in and keep out of the sun. Soo many great features, this is going to get a lot of use!
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for hanging out on the beach! I am a 60+ year old woman who derives immense joy from spending time on my local beach. I can erect and dismantle this shade tent easily on my own even when there's a breeze. If it's windy I take it off the beach to fold it up properly. It enables me to spend hours on the beach with both sun and wind protection. I use a sand chair and can sit or lie down completely inside the tent (across the width) if it's too cool or too hot. I haven't needed to use the tent pegs. I just put some sand in the pockets provided and it's fine. It doesn't have a carry handle (which is a minor design flaw) but it fits into my large shoulder bag and is easy to carry the 200metre distance. Not heavy but you do need to have a way of carrying it if you're walking. Very well designed and well made like you get from Kathmandu!
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great beach shelter I bought this for my little nephew to enjoy the beach and not get burnt.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great. I was doing a dummy run erecting this shelter in my living-room when I realized that it was bigger than expected and impractical for me to take to the beach for a relatively short period of time. It would make an excellent shelter for several people who like to spend a day at the beach.
Date published: 2016-10-03
  • y_2019, m_10, d_17, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_85
  • loc_en_AU, sid_87127_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9.29ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT